Skip to content

Why You Should Hate Tax Time

April 16, 2012

Ok, you shouldn’t hate tax time for the obvious reasons.  I know this is going to sound a bit trite but shouldn’t we be willing to pay a certain share to the government for certain services that we all find worthwhile.  That’s not why I think you should hate tax time!  We should all hate tax time for the amount of paperwork that we do year round and for the level of dishonesty this paperwork creates in many taxpayers nationwide. 

             You and I will do paperwork all year to support the tax returns we are filing (at least we should!).  You keep receipts, track expenses, store supporting items, spend money on planning and otherwise spend your time and money trying to re-coup what is rightfully yours.  The dishonesty comes in the form of trying to remember and re-create an expense that you paid, is a legal deduction and you forgot to write it down.  Over estimate that expense and you cheat the government, underestimate it and you cheat yourself!  Neither one of these methods works and one can get you fined and even sent to jail.  Yikes!

             An increasing part of what I do on your behalf is to create a system that makes this easy and helps to keep you accountable and in compliance all at the same time.  Like you I have the paperwork and find the dishonesty to be unacceptable as well.

             If you find your self dragging your feet when it comes to taxes every year a call to my office will help you with that.  I am Michael Boehrer and I own YOUR Accounting, Tax and Payroll and I can be reached at 916-773-6454 or you can e-mail me at michael@youratp.com

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment